Friday, July 07, 2006

NOI Contributor Wins World's Top Juried Award For Sci-Fi

North of Infinity contributor Robert J. Sawyer has just won the world's top juried award for science fiction, the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Best Novel of the Year.

The award, which Sawyer won for his latest novel, MINDSCAN, was presented Friday night, July 7, 2006, at a banquet at the J. Wayne and Elsie M. Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas.

With this award win -- his 38th for his fiction -- Robert J. Sawyer now joins the most-select club in all of science fiction: the seven writers who have won all three of the field's top awards for best novel of the year:

(The full list of winners of all three awards: David Brin, Arthur C. Clarke, Joe Haldeman, Frederik Pohl, Kim Stanley Robinson, Robert J. Sawyer, and Connie Willis; Sawyer is the only Canadian to win all three.)

Rob's story "Forever" appears in North of Infinity II
Rob's story "Where The Heart Is" appears in North of Infinity

Congratulations, Rob!


Post a Comment

<< Home